excerpts from my life

My Valentine’s Weekend


A Weekend of Everything That Flies!

Ever since I heard about it from a friend 5 years ago, I’ve been itching to go to the Hot Air Balloon Fiesta in Clark. This year, I finally got to go with Oz!

Since we both know that he won’t wake up for the 5:30am balloon flight, we decided to overnight instead on Saturday night to be able to make it to Sunday’s flight.

Where we stayed: Clark Lohas Hotel

A Korean hotel with excellent service, although we expected more from the room and there was still a lot of construction ongoing. With no traffic, it’s just 5 minutes away from the Airfield.

Around the Hotel

Where we went: Duty Free Shopping Center

After checking in at the hotel, we decided to visit Clark’s Duty Free area, which turned out to be quite depressing. We didn’t take pictures anymore, but everything looked run down, both on the outside and inside. And at the front of Puregold, these little angels greeted us:

Doggies!

I got even more depressed with how the lady selling them were just grabbing and throwing them around. 😦 If only I could, I would’ve bought each and every one of them. Some were sold at 1000php, others at 2000php.

Where we ate: Cafe Mesa

We finally got hungry at 3:00pm and decided to hunt for a restaurant, which proved to be a little challenging. There were no restaurants around! Fortunately, we stumbled upon this little haven near Fort Stotsenburg.

We had the grilled prawns which was served with either soup or fruit. The food was great, and I’d suggest for you to eat there if you’re going to Clark (also due to the lack of other options haha). I’d definitely go back, both for the food and the ambiance.

The Main Event!

We arrived at the Airfield a little after 5:00am on Sunday, which was just about time since other people were also just starting to arrive. It was still pitchblack (and freezing) outside when Oz noticed a man flying around in a parachute way above us, being controlled by a motor. Crazy. Haha. Then the 4x4s started arriving, bringing the baskets/balloons to the field.

(Other Pictures in my FB Account)

After their flight, there were some air shows which were amazing as the planes were flying so close. The sky was also filled with too many kites, i think. Haha. We walked around to look at the concessionaires–I wanted a mini hot air balloon SO BADLY but the line was too long and it wasn’t really that worth it 😦

* * *
It was a breathtaking scene, the balloons rising with the sun. There really is a certain peace and calmness you feel as you watch the hot air balloons slowly drift away into the horizon. No one really knows where they’re headed but they float with ease and without any care in the world. 🙂

I will definitely go back next year and ride one. I’ll also get that cute mini hot air balloon, I promise.

Leave a comment